Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    New Member runningfromseptember's Avatar

Has anyone had experience with this tarp? Sportsmans Guide HQ ISSUE Camo Tarp

Has anyone tried out this tarp from sportsman's guide? I have had some less than stellar experience with them in the past, but this tarp seems better than the guide gear tarp.
    http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/c...aspx?a=1145824
    "I rejoice that there are owls. Let them do the idiotic and maniacal hooting for men." -Henry David Thoreau

New Member runningfromseptember's Avatar
    "I rejoice that there are owls. Let them do the idiotic and maniacal hooting for men." -Henry David Thoreau

Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    DIY Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Modular Quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH
    Images
    I've not. However, looking at the specs, they're a bit on the heavy side.

1,000 mm hydro head is the minimum necessary to be considered "waterproof"; they may be more waterproof than that, but I wouldn't count on it.

"190T" I'm assuming means "190 denier taslan fabric", but I could be wrong. However, that seems in line with the weight of the tarps; they'll definitely be tear- and abrasion-resistant. If heavier than you really need in a tarp.

On the other hand, it's hard to find tarps with that coverage at that price. Might be worth it.
    "Just prepare what you can and enjoy the rest."
    --Floridahanger

Stockton, New Jersey (along the Delaware River)
    Hammock
    Warbonnet BlackBird
    Tarp
    HG-4SCCCFT/WBSF
    Insulation
    Crowsnest/JRB MWUQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies, DW baby
    As FLRider stated, probably on the heavy side if it's for backpacking. For car camping, no big deal. One of my first tarps I owned was from Sportsman's Guide. For the price, probably is worth it.
    "Surround yourself with the best people you can find, delegate authority, and don't interfere."- RONALD REAGAN