Review my choice and opinions are welcome,

Hello everyone,
    I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a hammock. I have been tent camping for years and seeing how everyone has such accolades for these hammocks I feel I must experience it for myself. I have never "hanged" before so I am a complete newb. I have decided that I would be best served by going with a NA because I camp in various weather conditions and will require as much warmth as possible. So I usually tolerate hot weather well but the cold is.....friggen cold. In tents I will sometimes use a catalytic heater to warm things up....but then I am in the chill down to 14f weather so you get the idea. I have a thermarest toughskin with an R value of 3 and change so I hope it can be used in the Clark or do you think a quilt can provide the same R factor? Now I am counting ounces too and other than the cool factor of camo is it really the same wt even with the xl rainfly? Are you guys sealing the seams I guess for the tarp? Also if the wind is blowing down the long axis of of the hammock with the tarp closed shut will wind/rain get in or blow the velcro apart

Cheers,
    BattleBorn
    Last edited by battleborn; 01-19-2009 at 02:01. Reason: new question added

Hammock
    Clark / Claytor
    Tarp
    Neo 12 X 12
    Insulation
    Cheap pad
    Welcome aboard.

I have a Clark, and have used a cheap blue pad to get down to the mid 20's with no problem. I don't think it's wise to attempt a heater in a hammock, but who knows, maybe you'll come up with a way.

I haven't weighed my set up, and to be honest, I use a larger tarp than what came with the Clark, not because it can't do the job, but as I don't really 'hike', I figured larger is better (tarp wise) when car/canoe camping.