Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

AT thru-hike in a Clark?

Hey gang, complete hammock newbie here but I've decided to hang on my northbound AT thru-hike starting at the end of March this year. I've decided to go with the Clark NA hammock but I have some concerns about warmth.

I'm planning on using a pad and overquilt so I think I'll be good to go up top, but are the pockets underneath going to be sufficient to keep my backside warm enough? I'm worried that I won't have enough clothing/material to stuff them all with since I'll only be carrying essentials and won't have a lot of extras to use as insulation.

I haven't received the hammock yet ("last minute" is my standard operating procedure) so I don't know that I'll have a lot of time beforehand to experiment with it, so any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Lantern2814 View Post
    I haven't received the hammock yet ("last minute" is my standard operating procedure) so I don't know that I'll have a lot of time beforehand to experiment with it, so any input is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Make the time for this! I saw several hammocks get sent home last year because people got them at the last minute and could never get it figured out just right. My on and off hiking buddy was one of them. He finally got so irritated at me for sleeping good that he got his back after a month. I guess glaring at my set-up for a few weeks did the trick for him.

Can't speak of the Clarks, but RAW's new solution looks very cool!
    Trust nobody!

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7Dbl
    Tarp
    Superfly w/doors
    Insulation
    JRB TQ, Te-Wa UQ
    Suspension
    Straps dutch-clips
    I haven't done a through hike, but . . .

Your question is a difficult one to answer.