Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First homemade Hammock Newbie: Feedback, Suggestions & Questions

Hey all this is my first post here, so Hello! I am brand new to hammocks and making my own gear. So I'd like some feedback and have some pretty basic questions

I found you all and with the directions from Jeff's page and took the plunge. I bought some ripstop nylon, I don't really know what weight but I figured 2 layers would be more than enough, plus give it a nice "two tone" look.

The Design is a basic rectangle (10' x 54") I sewed all the edges, turned it in side out so it has a nice finish look. I am just under 6' tall. I am using cordlette which is for climbing (has no stretch).

I then did simple gather and whip at the ends (I later tried zipties). Here (pictured) I have a 94" ridgeline. I am still trying to figure out adjusting the sag, ridgeline etc. I have a good size gap underneath the small of my back, so I need to get a lil flatter somehow.

So let me know what you think, what can be improved and I could use some help about figuring out how to get more comfortable in it.

Double layer, orange and gray 10'

End Detail shot

Another End Detail Shot

Need help adjusting I still have a void under the small of my back, here I am laying diagonally

Action or rather an INaction shot

Feedback/improvements and how to get more comfortable/adjusting appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    My DIY 10.5'X5' speer style
    Tarp
    PW 10X12 Cathedral
    Insulation
    PW Comforter Quilt
    Suspension
    1"poly webbing
    Images
    Looks good, did you leave and opening so that you can slide a pad inside it?
    Psalm 19:1-3 "The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Hammock
    DIY (various)
    Tarp
    DIY 5x10 pseudocat
    Insulation
    GI+
    Suspension
    UCR custom