WBBB
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    MW3
    Suspension
    whoopies

Making a new tarp, so of course I have questions

Alright, my first sewing project since 8th grade home economics was a DIY nylon tarp I made last winter. I was very ambitious and decided I was going to try cat cuts on the sides and ridgeline. The end result was adequate but the ridgeline angles sharply from the attachment points to a flat section in the middle. I assume that the reason for this odd shape is that there is to much curve in the ridge line. Looking at other tarps it seems that the cat cut in the ridge is either very light or nonexistent.

So the question is should a person even bother with the cat cut on the ridge on the next tarp?

I have very little experience with tarps. Prior to hanging I slept in tents (don't tell anyone) and I thought tarps were for gram weenies living in areas with no bugs.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Dbl
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe Sil
    Insulation
    DIY Quilt+HG Inc20
    In my personal experience, if you have a properly sewn tarp with cat cuts all along the perimeter, a cat cut ridgeline doesn't help much with keeping it taught other than restricting your pitching options, and adding, as you experienced, a much more complex shape to work with while sewing.

If pitched tight enough, a flat ridgeline will actually take the shape of a curve (false Catcut ridgeline), which is another nice benefit to a catenary cut perimeter.

As long as you get a good cat cut along the edges, your next tarp should be great, considering that you ended up with a reasonable ridgeline even *with* the cat cuts - a straight ridgeline seam will seem like cake!

Do let us know how it turns out!
    Brian MacMillin
    www.OutdoorEquipmentSupplier.com
    Home of the new MacCat Gen4 hammock tarps

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    MW3
    Suspension
    whoopies