Senior Member Carolinahammockhanger's Avatar
    Hammock
    ENO Singlenest w/ bugnet
    Tarp
    OES MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    Ridgerest
    Images

New Thermarest Coming out in April!! WOW!

There is a new thermarest coming out! 2.5 thick, 2.5 r value, but only 14 oz for reg size! I'm new to hammock bacpacking but experiecned in backpaking by way of ultralighting. This new pad looks good. I hope its as good as the specs show. Here is a link. http://www.thermarest.com/product_de...?pID=134&cID=1 Can anyone think of any negatives about this pad before I spend my hard earned $? I have a eno doublenest. There is a 25 inch wide model too. would this be better? Thanks for your replies!

Images
    I have been aware of it for a couple of months but have never had my hands on one. It is interesting and unique... it is a lot of partially compartmentalized air pockets that are stacked and use reflective material. My first thought when I saw sketches of what they have done was there was a lot of structure to it and what a challenge that would be.

I also wonder about the R-value for it and how they determined what it was. I thought R-value was specific to insulation that only had conductive heat transfer properties. This thing looks to me like it has a bit of all three heat transfer properties. When searching the web about radiant barriers for insulation over the years, there seemed to be issues about how to characterize radiant barriers insulation comparatively to fiber insulation that is more commonly used and is characterized by R-values in some way. (For reference to those that might care , the 3 methods of heat transfer are conductive, convective, and radiant which are by physical contact, fluid movement, and electromagnetic energy, respectively... if I am remembering correctly.)
    Youngblood AT2000

Hammock
    Dutchware Half-Wit Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    HG Palace
    Insulation
    Burrow & Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling
    Images