Bump in the road.

I am very new to this hammock stuff. After weeks of utilizing this great website/forum I have decided to take the "hang". So far it has been pleasing. I say "so far" yesterday I had my first major bump. I have yet to set up my hammock the correct way(thats what I think in my head). I have setup in near my house a couple of times. Once when I got the hammock. Once when I made adjustments to the suspension. Well I was determined to take my new tarp and hammock into the woods for some practice and maybe even a nap. From what I have read is that practice makes perfect. My plan was to hike in scope out 3 or 4 different possible hang sites. I would set up at one rest for a moment pack up and get to the next spot. Repeat. Third hang site was less than ideal, I might encounter this.(trees were a tad close but my hammock ends didn't touch) I set up. I am ready to enter. Slipping off the shoes and sitting. Then I rolled! IT WAS &$%^!*@ MESS! The part that is the worst my bug net is trashed! 300 hundred pounds and netting are not a good combo. So now I have a hammock with a ripped bug net. And I still have not slept in it. I guess now I get to make mods and DIY project. Sorry for the rant but needed to get that out.

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images

Bump in the road.

Sorry to hear of your misfortune. I remember, that first time sitting down in my hammock, wondering whether this flimsy piece of nylon is going to hold me and, if it does, will it just flip me over like those backyard net hammocks?

Then, after a while of course, we get lackadaisical and sit in the underquilt, missing the hammock completely (don't ask me how I know).

Keep at it though. The comfort of sleeping on a cloud is well worth the adventure!
    Mike
    "Life is a Project!"

Hammock
    WB, JRB, WL
    Tarp
    bigger is better;)
    Insulation
    HG, JRB, UGQ, WL