Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Noob in middle Georgia

Hello all. Im Chris and 28 years old currently work logistics for the US. I am new to the game and hope that I can learn a lot from all the veterans on the site. I am already trying to plan an AT hike that will start at the starting point of the trail and take me 133 miles into the trail to arrive at the NOC in NC. I will be out of country in 2013 so I am naming OT for a spring/summer 2014 date. If anyone is interested please let me know.

Hammock
    DIY, Dutch Argon
    Tarp
    Squidbilly/Tadpole
    Insulation
    20 Incubator,WL SS
    Suspension
    whoopies, MSH
    You've come to the right place to learn about hammocking. Tons of info. here. Welcome to the forums.
    Keep movin', keep believing and enjoy the journey!

Hammock
    Darien UL/Roaming Gnome
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    HG UQ/TQ's
    Suspension
    Dutch speed hooks
    Welcome and I envy you! To be that young again and take on the AT! You'll learn a lot here but the bit of wisdom I'll give you is research a LOT and "then" buy. You need to go light and everything that goes in that pack must have at least two uses. Break your gear into systems, i.e, cook system, sleep system, toilet system and then read alot!

You'll want a light weight hammock, like really light with a lightweight tarp (think cuben fiber) and although many find a bridge hammock like the WB Ridgerunner to be really comfortable, they add bulk and weight to your pack.

There's a lot to learn and figure out before you start buying gear. Your pack, hammock, tarp and quilts constitute the bulf of your weight and they can be expensive so you don't want to buy a set only to learn you bought heavy gear. There's a lot of little details that can make a huge difference on the trail...for example:

-Use baby wipes, not toilet paper; you have to stay super clean down there or you'll be miserable; toilet paper doesn't cut it.