Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question How To Hang a Hammock (Newbie Here)

The reason I joined these forums is to hopefully gain some information on Hammock camping. I recently purchased a Byer Moskito Traveler Hammock and 30 feet of 4mm heavy duty rope, and i'm not sure how to hang it from the tree, can anyone post a diagram or video showing me the correct way how to do this.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC 1.7 Dl
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Incubator/Ozark
    Suspension
    ADJ webbing
    Images
    First you will be told do not use the rope. It does some damage to the tree though how much can be and often is debated. It also will keep you from being able to hang in most parks due to perception. You should look into Shugs vids for hammock noobies. Lots of info there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7NZVqpBUV0
    Where ever you go,
    There you are.

Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp
    Tadpole
    Suspension
    NCAA
    Seek Shug Emery on youtube. Or go to the video gallery here and search "shug". He will guide the way. He has guided many of us. View his "how to series". All you need to know.

Unhappy

Thanks for replying I wasn't aware I would need more gear to hang my hammock. Looks like i'm out of luck for the time being due to the fact I have no money to spend on gear and i'm unemployed. But again thanks for replying and I did find him to be very knowledgeable on this subject.

Hammock
    Switchback/Treklite
    Tarp
    BWDD WinterDream
    Insulation
    IX 5-in-1/WM bag
    Suspension
    Whoopies/TL Stand
    Creativity can work wonders. You don't have to have specific "cool" gear to start hanging, just something that will do the job safely for you and for the trees.Look around. Learn a few basic knots, pad the tree where necessary while you use the rope. I bet you can find a way to hang with what you have on hand until you can acquire something better. Remember: hang no higher than you are willing to fall. Have fun.

Hammock
    ENO DoubleNest