Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Do I need a pad [newbie]?

I am planning a NOBO thru-hike of the AT starting next spring. I am new to hammock camping and want to buy my gear now so I can get accustomed to it this summer. I am leaning toward a Warbonnet but I have not figured out insulation. I'm thinking there may be times when I want to stay in a shelter (in fact I hear you have to in parts of the Smokies) and I would like some sort of pad, but it sounds like ground pads and hanging don't mix too well. Any suggestions of a setup that will give me both a warm hang and a ground setup for the occasional shelter night?

Hammock
    HH Exped / DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    Etowah 10X10
    Insulation
    JRB Grey3/HR
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopie Slings
    Well I have been hanging for 4 years now and still use a pad.
    I use a 3/4 length Thermarest 1 inch pad partially filled when in the hammock. I also got a set of wings from Eagles Nest for the shoulders. This way when I want to sleep on the ground (Don't know why I ever do) I have the pad there.

I know some people have gotten underquilts and carry a Zlite pad just for shelters and sitting on. All depends on how much you want to carry.

Hammock
    DIY , HHASYM
    Tarp
    DIY, HH hex
    Insulation
    DIY CLMSHLD, POD
    Suspension
    whoopie
    Getting a doubler layer hammock will help if you are using a pad. Pads are warm, light, and inexpensive. After you get used to setting up and getting comfy on one its not that bad. Some here actually prefer it over an under quilt. (Majority use UQs). But with a pad going ground is an option that hangers can't really do with only a quilt.

YouTube search shugemery ... he has some vids on it

Jason
    "It's better to keep your mouth shut and let people THINK your stupid than to open it and PROVE it" - SFC Kagawa, United States Army (my old platoon SGT)
    *Originally -Abraham Lincoln 16th president of US (1809 -1865)

Hammock
    Hammock Bliss Sky Bed
    Tarp