Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Too many options need input

Hey everyone I'm new to this to the point where I have yet to touch a hammock. My last camping experience (Car camper) opened my eyes to the fact that the ground is not all that comfy of a place to sleep. I have sort of narrowed it down between a wbbb, wbbb-xlc, and wbrr. I have looked at some of the other brands but these just appeal to me the most (still open to other suggestions). There are some attractive qualities of the dangerbird to me. I'm not sure if a bridge would be the way to go. I am torn because of so many good reviews for all of these hammocks. I am 6 ft. 0in. and weigh 200-215. I am typically a side sleeper but sleep fairly well in other positions as well. I am also torn between 1.1 and 1.7 because I am under the impression that 1.7 is more durable and will last longer. I will be using this mostly in the mountains (I live in Az, have to run from the 110 temps) in cooler temps (40 on up) and perhaps on occasion colder than that but nothing planned at this point.
    Thanks for the input

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Leigh's Uq /UGQ TQ
    Suspension
    JRB Woopie/Dutch
    I like the double layer. If you get cold and need to put a mat or something in between you can.

Hammock
    Sheltowee 20
    Tarp
    Speer
    Insulation
    Burrow
    Images
    Welcome from Fla! IMO you can't go wrong with a WB. We have a 1.1 single and and a 1.0 double, and love them both. Neither has shown any wear after numerous hangs in rough conditions. My advice: get the one that you feel most comfortable (or excited) about trying first, keeping in mind that used WB's sell in minutes on this forum. It's really easy to sell at a very small loss, then try another model if you want to fine-tune.
    Something hidden. Go and find it. Go, and look behind the Ranges. Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you . . . Go! - Rudyard Kipling

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY