Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Good beginners hammock?

I have been backpacking for several years and have recently decided to give hammocking a try. I am located in NH (just moved from VT) so all/most of my hiking will be in NH, VT, and Maine.

I am looking at the HH Expedition asym for my first hammock. Is this a good choice for my first hammock? Also, is it worth getting the hex rain fly for additional coverage (The Hennessy silnylon fly 144" x 132"). I am new to this whole hammock thing, so any information would be appreciated.

oh yah, and I'm a little guy (5'8 140lbs)

Thanks for any input,
    Jason
    Last edited by jr05; 03-21-2007 at 15:12. Reason: updated rain fly question

Hammock
    Dual Layer WB Blackbird
    Tarp
    OES Cuben
    Insulation
    SnugFit
    Images
    With your size and weight I would suggest picking up a Ultralight Backpacker model if you are going with a Hennessy. I'm 5'10"and 160 lbs and it fits me great.

There are many tarp choices you could go with. Check out some of the posts in the tarps forum. The McCat seems to be one of the more popular tarps.

Your cheapest route would be to make your own hammock and tarp. Check out the homemade gear section of Jeff's site to get some ideas.

and welcome to the forum.
    “Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it." -Terry Pratchett

Premium Quality, Fresh Roasted Coffee
    www.meancatcoffee.com

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by jr05 View Post
    I have been backpacking for several years and have recently decided to give hammocking a try. I am located in NH (just moved from VT) so all/most of my hiking will be in NH, VT, and Maine.