DIY channel end
    Tarp
    Diy Winter12
    Insulation
    DIY top/underquilt
    Suspension
    Mule tape/whoopies

New to winter/snow hiking and camping

Im new to the idea of backpacking in the snow. I know people on the forum live way up north and/or west where there is a lot more snow but I hope for some advice on the topic. I think it would be a great challenge. Most people I talk to around here think Im a little crazy cause camping in the snow, in the Smokies? Yeah it sounds weird but I wanna do it...... Safely. And come back. So advice, tricks, suggestions on gear I should look into. I want to make it a pulking trip.

Hammock gear wise what direction should I go? Peapod? A huge under/top quilt?

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 dbl, XLC 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    WB Edge/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG B/I 20*
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling
    Checkout out Shug's youtube channel. He has a lot of videos on winter camping.

http://www.youtube.com/user/shugemery

Latest winter trip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEzq2iidxNs

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    Oldman Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    Warb. Yeti,& Mamba
    Suspension
    Adjustable Webbing
    I agree with pello check out shug's videos......

Myself, I do not look at weight as much as the guys on the forum. I use 3 season top quilt and full length under quilt both being down. If it gets really cold after all that I bring out the big guns and wear my military polartec classic 300 and polartec fleece overalls. I have only had to do that once.

Using a good under quilt and top quilt will keep you nice and warm

It is better to use hammock traps for a rainy or snowy situation.

winter

To be comfortable and enjoy camping any time of the year I use a small 5"x5" or 6"x6" coffee can cook stove hooked to a 2"x40" chimney that is a center pole for my tarp.