Superfly
    Insulation
    JRB Nest
    Suspension
    Different Types

Hennessey Hammock Tarps Q's

For HH users only.

Two Questions:

I've always left my HH tarps attached to the hammock, liking the convenience of the easy put up and take down. Just roll, slide into the snake skins, stuff and go. I've never had issues of the hammock getting damp from a wet tarp.

I've noticed others putting up the tarp separately, then putting up the hammock.

1) Is this a better way? Or just personal preference?

And now, a completely different question. I don't use a tarp ridge line. Do you, and why? My tarps have never come into contact with my bug netting, so why the ridge line? Just in case you need to go to ground and use a pad?

Just curious, so I thought I'd ask.

Hammock
    Multicam Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    Multicam Bushcraft
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Buckles and straps
    I'm new to my HH. I have done both, bud decided (for now) to separate them. I live in an occasionally wet area and would like the flexibility of a fast tarp set up then more deliberate and protected full setup. Also, if wet, separate allows dry hammock to be kept separate of wet fly. My two cents, subject to change on any whim.

Hammock
    hennessy exped asym
    Images
    I like to keep my tarp separate, I don't use the stock Hennessy tarp, I find its just not big enough. My boyfriend used to keep his tarp in the snake skins without issue. Then he found that he liked my bigger tarp too!
    I like having the ability to set up my tarp to keep the rest of my gear dry if its raining, and I really love having a tarp that's way bigger than my hammock. When I first started out, and was using the stock tarp, I always felt really vulnerable, even though we survived some really heavy rain together and came out dry, I just never felt that confident with it.
    Debi

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    WB Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx UQ