Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Minimum tarp for the Pacific Northwest?

I'm not only new to hanging, I'm new to camping in general. Besides time in the National Guard, I have spent exactly one night 30 years camping, and that was two weeks ago up in the Olympics. Two of the take away points for me from that is that the Hennessy Expedition Deluxe felt really cramped for me (just over 6', 200 lbs) and that the rain fly that came with it didn't seem like it would do much vs any kind of rain with a wind involved.

What is the minimum tarp people use in rainy areas?

And any other recommendations for comfortable hiking/camping for this particular neck of the woods?

Thanks in advance.

Hammock
    WL Lite Owl / DIY
    Tarp
    Tadpole
    Insulation
    How cold is it?
    Suspension
    Always Changing :)
    Check out the Tadpole by Wilderness Logics. I've been through many pretty nasty storms and stayed nice and dry.
    If you ain't havin' fun, you're doin' it wrong

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    HG: CF 4S
    Insulation
    HG: TQ. UQ
    Suspension
    WS and Dutch Hooks
    I felt really cramped in the first Hennessy I tried and the tarp really felt like it would not offer coverage in sideway rain like I get around here where I am. I am not sure which model I was in; it was not mine. I am 6'2" and about 170. Hennessy has different models that will accommodate different size campers from kids to 7' 300lbs ers so that may be part of your issue.

For the reasons above I went with a Warbonnet Blackbird and Hammock Gear full coverage tarp. I no longer feel cramped or like I am going to get wet in sideways rain. I was up in the NH White Mountains recently and my tenting friend got all wet and I was high and dry in my hammock.