Dream Hammock Sparrow Dragon
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG Burrow/Phoenix
    Suspension
    Dutch Woppie Hooks

What does extra down do???

Hi guys, in either the top or under quilt, what does the extra down do? Like for example, if I have a 15 degree rated top quilt, will more down increase that, and if so what does every extra ounce add???

Hammock
    ENO DN
    Tarp
    Wb mambajamba
    Insulation
    Pheonix20 golite1s
    Suspension
    Whoopie
    It lowers the temp rating. By how much I don't know.

Hammock
    LeanGreen/BigRed/DIY
    Tarp
    CatCut Hex/GG12
    Insulation
    Fur I grow myself
    Suspension
    Of Disbelief
    Images
    The conventional wisdom is that each ounce of over stuff adds about 5°F additional to the temp rating of the quilt. Up to about 5 ounces of over stuff, then there isn't much change.
    *Heaven best have trees, because I plan to lounge for eternity.

Good judgement is the result of experience and experience the result of bad judgement. - Mark Twain

Trail name: Radar

2014 Smoked Butt Hang Planning Thread | Sign up Sheet

Hammock
    11 foot gathered hexon1.7
    Tarp
    11 ft winter dutch
    Insulation
    TQ and UQ
    Suspension
    Spider Straps 1.5
    To expand on the question........ Would overfill be better on top quilt or bottom?
    I would think that bottom see more improvements from it.

IMO, overstuff would be effective bottom and top. If I could put it one place only, the bottom.

Hammock
    Gt UL, 1.7 wbbb
    Tarp
    GG, monsoon,suprfl
    Insulation
    PLUQ, jarbidge, di
    Suspension
    Whoopie wb-strap
    Images
    There is a point of diminishing returns on overstuff. If the down is not able to expand fully it wont be as warm.
    Dammfast

“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”

― Mark Twain

Hammock
    Hennesy
    Tarp
    various
    Insulation
    pads, foam
    Images