Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Temperature ratings and other newbie questions

Hi all,

I'm brand new to hanging, just bought a WBBB XLC. I currently have a north face 20* bag, and a fleece blanket (no pad at the moment)

As I live in Texas, the only thing I have had to use for warmth is my fleece on a 75* night. As it gets down closer to 40-50* I expect to be able to just use my sleeping bag and be warm enough, even without a pad - does this sound correct?

Also, if I were to buy a 20* full length UQ but use it with just a sheet, instead of with a top quilt/sleeping bag, what kind of temperatures should I expect to be comfortable to?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by nokry56; 09-05-2013 at 09:39. Reason: Typos

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by nokry56 View Post
    Hi all,

I'm brand new to hanging, just bought a WBBB XLC. I currently have a north face 20* bag, and a fleece blanket (no pad at the moment)

As I live in Texas, the only thing I have had to use for warmth is my fleece on a 75* night. As it gets down closer to 40-50* I expect to be able to just use my sleeping bag and be warm enough, even without a bad - does this sound correct?

Also, if I were to buy a 20* full length UQ but use it with just a sheet, instead of with a top quilt, what kind of temperatures should I expect to be comfortable to?

Thanks in advance.
    You'll need something under you in the hammock at 40-50º....a pad will do ya'.
    With a 20º UQ and just a sheet you may be just fine in warmer temps but if it gets cold you'll chill on top.
    Here is some UQ and TQ/Sleeping Bag/Pad intel.
    Shug

Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Thanks Shug.

I've actually already watched all of your videos, definitely a great help for new hangers.

Thanks!

Hammock
    WBBB RR DBL 1.1 / DIY Multicam SL
    Tarp
    Superfly/HG CF
    Insulation