Zpacks Cuben
    Insulation
    Cottage Down
    Suspension
    webbing/buckle
    Images

new claytor expedition inbound!!!

hi guys,
    i haven't been on the forums here in quite awhile. i was tempted by a hammock last summer but didn't end up taking the plunge. well after doing a bunch of investigation on new shelter options i finally ended up biting on the claytor expedition - liked the room, weight, netting, and full zipper! actually my gf bought it for me as a present!!! hehehe

other than having to wait an unusually long time for it to arrive (as i've read in other threads) what can i expect from this? i have no experience hanging so this will be a brand new adventure for me. tips? advice? do's and don'ts of hanging? recommended reading?

thanks,
    swoosh

ps. i'm excited like a little kid

Hammock
    WL-NightOwl & Claytor-Exp
    Tarp
    WL-BD & Speer-8x10
    Insulation
    WM-CCF + NF20F POD
    Suspension
    HatchetKnot
    Little trick when bugs are no problem and you want get the net out of the way.
    Hang hammock as usual then insert foam pad if desired but do not install net spreaders and do not connect net shock cord.
    Then flip hammock 180 (upside down) to put net on bottom
    Travels with Samantha

Banned
    Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    Zpacks Cuben
    Insulation
    Cottage Down
    Suspension
    webbing/buckle
    Images
    good idea dually!

anyone else got any pointers or basics? like i said, i'm totally new to hanging

Hammock
    Claytor Jungle, DIY
    Tarp
    Claytor Diamond
    Insulation
    2/3 UQ, Speer TQ
    Tie overhand knots (water stoppers) in your suspension webbing. one or two on either side right before the webbing goes into the channel at the ends of the hammock. The stock webbing is a little stretchy but if you keep some sag in the suspension (tie high on the tree) you will lessen the forces and see much less stretching.
    Enjoy!

Banned
    Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    Zpacks Cuben