Hammock evolution: where's it at?

Hi,
    I'm a newbie and have just had a weekend in my first DIY, based on headchange4u's hennesey clone. Thanks headchange4u: that's an awesome thread!

I had just finished it when I looked at the forums and found the article on making a hammock with a footbox. Doh! That looks awesome too, and who knows how many other great ideas are out there?

What I wanted to ask is what people think is the current state of play in terms of the gathered end hammock that gives the flattest, most comfy lay?

I gather that there are various patent issues for manufacturers meaning that it is hard for any manufacturer to be able to incorporate all of the best innovations into a single hammock, but as DIYers, we can do what we like, right?

So would the dream hammock have a footbox, an adjustable foot support, or an elasticated foot box?
    Would it have a shoulder box too?

Would it have a shelf?

I'd like this thread help me, and anybody else looking in, to have a blueprint to design the best hammock that we can.

Thanks in advance

Chris

Hammock
    DIY w/ Net
    Tarp
    DIY 11'x10' Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    DIY Whoppies + TS
    Images
    It really depends on how fancy you want to get. My DIY is basically a rectangle, with a bit of shaping on the end, and gathered with a channel. Super comfortable.

The features you incorporate in your design are basically all personal preference, what you want to try, and how much work you want to put into it. You wont get any consensus on what's "best" because it varies person to person.

If you've already made a Hennessy clone, then I'm sure you can pull off pretty much anything you want to try. A WBBB clone is probably the most common DIY - of the more elaborate hammocks, anyway.

Hammock
    Claytor
    Tarp
    MacCat delux Spinn
    Insulation
    CCF and Quilts
    Suspension
    web and buckles
    Images