Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Picking the temp of a quilt? What range?

I plan on purchasing my first top and bottom quilt. I cannot decide on a 40 or 20 degree rating. I do not expect to ever be anywhere that is below 20 degrees probably not even 30 degrees. Most likely the 30 to 60 range. Will I be excessively warm in the 20 degree quilts when it is in the 50 degree range. Do you intentionally create gaps to allow some heat out? I have only been out in the backyard a few times with blankets until I got cold. Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, I searched but couldn't come up with much. I'm a newb.
    Thanks
    Tom

Senior Member Sleepytime Gorilla Sack's Avatar
    Hammock
    ENO DN, WBBB 1.9-1.1, GrandTrunk UL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubator & Burrow
    Suspension
    Ready Straps
    Unless your super worried about pack weight / volume, I would definitely opt for the lower temp rated quilts. Especially the UQ.
    IMO the TQ is less of a issue but 20F over and 20F under is right-on in sustained 40d nights. It is easy to regulate body temp by letting some extremities hang out and the UQ can always hang looser or off to a side.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Dbl xlc
    Tarp
    HG cuben
    Insulation
    HG
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Dutch bkls
    One thing about a 20* range quilt set is that it will make you feel a good bit more confident to try colder outings. With that said, you can easily be comfortable with the 20* quilts in warmer temps. My strategy was to begin with 20* quilts knowing that I would most likely buy other sets later which I did in both the 40* & 0*.

Can't go wrong with either decision. The biggest motivator for me to buy a 40* set was that I was trying to get my pack weight down to under 10 lb base but I'm certainly glad to have them now.

David

Hammock
    WL Night Owl
    Tarp
    WL BD TP
    Insulation
    WL TQ, WL UQ
    Suspension
    Whoppies/Straps
    Images