Tarp
    Factory
    Insulation
    JRB Mt. Washington
    Suspension
    Dutch whoopies

New hammocker here

Hello all,

I'm new to hammocking and bit the bullet and bought a Hennessey (Explorer Ultralite due to my weight/height at 200 lbs/5'11) after doing some research.

The deal was done when I saw they were throwing in a child's Cub Zip with any purchase. Being that it's just my son and I, it was a no-brainer.

I do have some questions though.....

1. The literature that came with the Snake Skins said you could put them over the hammock, the rain fly or both....how would you do both? Just leave the fly attached and pull the snake skins over all of it?

2. What the heck are whoopie slings and why would I want them?

3. Why in the world would they use black cord on the side attachment points? Maneuvering around the hammock during the hours of darkness is a situation ripe with opportunity to trip. I already have an order in for reflective cord from JRB to replace it....I also picked up some small 9 carabiners to assist with tying off the side cords quickly, easily and tight.

4. Is there a cheaper option for cold weather camping compared to the under quilts that are available?

5. During the summer months, how/what do you sleep in? Do you even need a sleeping bag or just a blanket? At this point in my education, I just figure you take your shoes off and lay down.

6. Being in a fairly rainy environment, I also plan on replacing the fly with their hex fly. Smart decision?

7. Is there an easier way to attach to a tree? The lashing they suggest is fine, but with so many carabiners and quick attach/detach options in the climbing world, is there a better option?

I've been reading/learning lots from this site so far, so thanks.

Ed

Hammock
    Dogger special
    Tarp
    HG CF 12' camo
    Insulation
    HG Buro & Incu 0+2
    Suspension
    Woopies
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by esheato View Post
    Hello all,