DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    DIY 10'x11'
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images

Wink Bridge Design Principles

Bridge Hammock Design Principles

I've been investigating the Bridge Hammock for many months now and have learned a few things about the design principles.

Thought I would share what I have learned with the members of HammockForums.

There are several parts of the Bridge Hammock that affect the comfort and usefulness of the Bridge Hammock. These are: (not necessarily an exhaustive list, but those I think are most important)

1. fabric length
    2. fabric width at head and foot ends
    3. fabric width in center
    4. arc depth
    5. spreader bar length
    6. spreader bar material
    7. suspension triangle side length
    8. ridge line length
    9. material used for arc
    10. Bridge Hammock fabric

I will discuss most of these topics. Probably not exhaustively, but enough to give those who care to design and make their own Bridge Hammocks an insight into the trade-offs involved and what they can do to increase their comfort and decrease the time and materials spent in false starts.

Fabric Length

I'll start with a simple topic right off the bat: Fabric length. This is easy, just decide the length of a mattress on which you are most comfortable and make the finished fabric length the same. Most people I know are very comfortable on a Queen size bed, so a finished fabric length of 80" is fine. If you are extra tall, then add to the length accordingly. Usually 4" to 6" above the head and below the feet is usually plenty and more than enough. If you like to sleep with one or both of your arms above your head, then you may need more room above your head.