Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images

Bugs biting thru hammock question

I'm just getting into hammocking and therefore, I am a complete newbie. My question concerns biting bugs. I hike in Florida which has bugs year round and in New England where bug season is shorter but certainly no less intense.

I've learned how to defend myself from biting bugs as a ground dweller, but the thought occurred to me that these pest can bite me through the bottom of the hammock as I lay helpless, feeding every blood sucking insect within a mile radius! The thought has me panic stricken with visions of being tied down to an ant hill!

Here are some of the potential solutions have I have considered. I have no idea what actually works though.

1. Sleep on a full coverage CCF mat. This would probably keep the bugs off but, I've read many a complaint about sweaty condensation, especially in summer bug season.

2. Use an under quilt. Not sure if this works because we may see an UQ and think it fits tightly, but to a tiny blackfly, the small crevasses might look like an open door policy. Not to mention, a tight fitting UQ may be too warm in the height of bug season.

3. Use a double layer hammock. I can't quite convince myself that a stinging insect that can get through one gossamer layer of nylon, can't get through two. But maybe?

4. My last idea and the one that I hope works is to spray the underside of the hammock with permethrin. That stuff kills bugs on contact and doesn't harm fabrics. I wash my summer hiking clothes in this stuff. It's lightweight and compatible with the hot, dog days of summer.

Hammock
    Freebird, HHExUL w/zip mod
    Tarp
    HM Suite, UGQ, HG
    Insulation
    WB Yeti, 5n1 Jerry
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling
    Images
    Option 4 has worked great for me in South Central Texas where mosquitos are rampant.