Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help with specialized setup for trip to Latin America

Hi guys

I'm planning a trip to South/Central America so I'm looking for a setup that could take me comfortably from tropical rainforests to high up in the Andes. I'm about 6'2" 240lbs. I'm new to hammock camping so could use some help

Basically I'm looking for comfort, versatility, etc. Because of the humidity I'm looking for fully-synthetic materials. I think I will buy a sleeping bag instead of a TQ, so it's wider when used in the hammock and blocks drafts better when used on the ground. For colder weather while sleeping on the ground I would insert the UQ in the sleeping bag. I would also buy a 25" mattress, not sure between a therm a rest neo air or a Big Agnes.

For serious bug-proofness I'm not sure I would thrust a top bug net (as opposed to a sock bug net) because if bugs find their way between the UQ and the hammock they'll bite..

I need a setup with some sort of anti-theft protection.. I guess if my backpack is wet I cant put it inside my hammock. tarp long enough so that i can easily hang it on a ridgeline (near my head)?

Versatility:
    tarp used as a fully-waterproof bivy?
    sock bug net for hammock serving as bug bivy for ground sleeping? (raised up by tying it to the shelter)
    tarp used as a type-A shelter including ground coverage (ie one tarp serves as ground cloth and shelter at the same time)?
    UQ or sleeping bag as Insulating Wear (warm jacket) for cold evening?
    tarp as puncho?

Hammock:
    Dream Hammock - thunderbird 11'
    warbonnet - blackbird XLC
    Wilderness Logics - night owl

Also:
    buttinasling camper XL
    TTTM double or king size
    Henessey explorer deluxes or safari deluxes
    Grand Trunk Parachute Nylon Double