Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

help sewing ripstop

Hello all,

I've decided on a pattern and purchased material. I'm pretty new to sewing, so I cut up some taffeta from an old tent I had lying around to make sure I wasn't going to totally screw up anything.

I began trying to put a rolled hem down one side, but the rolled hem foot move seems a bit advanced for the moment. So I cut a small square of ripstop to practice. Whether I'm trying to sew a rolled hem or simply a straight stitch with a not small seam allowance, I cannot seem to get the ripstop from getting sucked into the feed dogs.

I've disengaged the feed dogs, loosened the thread tension from "Auto", started far enough down the line to be able to grab from the back and pull while feeding from the front. I'm really at a loss. I've searched for others talking about this problem and just haven't found it anywhere.

I'm using a 70D 1.9 DWR ripstop for what that's worth. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Hammock
    Work in Prog
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by vdubjunkie View Post
    Hello all,

I've decided on a pattern and purchased material. I'm pretty new to sewing, so I cut up some taffeta from an old tent I had lying around to make sure I wasn't going to totally screw up anything.

I began trying to put a rolled hem down one side, but the rolled hem foot move seems a bit advanced for the moment. So I cut a small square of ripstop to practice. Whether I'm trying to sew a rolled hem or simply a straight stitch with a not small seam allowance, I cannot seem to get the ripstop from getting sucked into the feed dogs.

I've disengaged the feed dogs, loosened the thread tension from "Auto", started far enough down the line to be able to grab from the back and pull while feeding from the front. I'm really at a loss. I've searched for others talking about this problem and just haven't found it anywhere.

I'm using a 70D 1.9 DWR ripstop for what that's worth. Any advice is greatly appreciated.