Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Yukon With Bugnet - Whoopie Ridgeline Modification

I have a couple Yukon Outfitters hammocks with bugnets, camping in Florida it is a must have feature. I am planning on adding a ridgeline to the setup so I can achieve a more consistent hang.

I am thinking of making an adjustable Ridgeline, so that I can adjust on the fly as necessary. I figure the way to go is just a big long Whoopie Sling, attached with Soft Shackles so I can easily remove it if need be.

The hammock is 105 inches long, I read somewhere that the ridge line target is 83% the length of the hammock. That gives me a ridge line of over 87 inches ... 4" soft shackles on each end, 79" is the "target". I am thinking of a whoopie with a minimum of 70" and a maximum of 90". That will give me a big long wide range of adjustable hang. Does this sound reasonable? Being a newb I am taking a shot in the dark on the length here.

Thanks,
    Bryan

I just found the Whoopie Sling Calculator sheet over here
    https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/...ad.php?t=29803

You guys do amazing work! I am ready to start ... Honey I will be, uh, in my office for a while.

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE
    Suspension
    Varies
    Looking at photos, it appears the bugnet support line is usually placed higher than the hammock ends where a ridgeline would normally be attached.

Your best approach will be to set the hammock up at your preferred hang angles and measure from point to point where you intend to attach the adjustable ridgeline.

Hammock
    Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    Guide Gear -Modded
    Insulation
    Onewind Top/Underq
    Suspension
    Amsteel Whoopies