Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    ???
    Insulation
    ???

Need help with an underquilt

I'm fairly new to the idea of hammock camping, also new to the forum.

I'm working on putting together my first hammock camping setup, and have already purchased a few things that I would like to use.

ENO double nest
    ENO pro-straps
    ENO bugnet
    30* bag that I will either sleep in or use as a quilt.

What I need now is some sort of insulation. I don't plan on camping in very cold weather, probably only down to the mid 40's at most. I have two main problems. One is that I don't really know where to start with this, or what options will really work.

The other problem is that I don't have a lot of $$ to spend on the rest of the setup.

I've been looking around the forum, and pulled together a couple ideas, but I would like some input, and then any other ideas that you guys have to offer.

- wool blanket
    This would be like the army surplus wool blankets, not the super soft ones. The idea I had was to either hang it underneath as an underquilt or fold it and use it as a pad inside the hammock.
    Would it be warm enough? Which use would be better? Will the roughness of the wool wear out the ENO fabric?

- CC foam pad
    The Walmart pads can be found for very little money, but are large.
    Would that be enough for 40* weather? Do the edges cause any additional wear on the hammock? Would it be better to cut it down (round the corners) for use in an ENO double nest?

Thanks in advance!

ἑταῖροι
    Hammock
    Switchback
    Tarp
    OES MacCat Ultra
    Insulation
    How cold is it?
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by kykcamper View Post
    I'm fairly new to the idea of hammock camping, also new to the forum.
    Welcome to the forum!

Quote Originally Posted by kykcamper View Post