Your favorite DIY hammock?

Just curious what others have found to be their favorite?

I'm completely new to hammocks, but can't wait to to try it out....Hoping to DIY one soon for an upcoming spring fishing trip,.... if funds allow .

From what I've found so far, the hammock plans from DIYgearsupply, and the WBBB clone here, in double layer both look good. (would be using a pad in cooler temps with the dbl layer....). I'd prefer the footbox design, as I think it would be more comfortable, but not having any experience in a hammock it's hard to know...

So from my impressions so far, I'd ideally go with the WBBB clone, but the DIYgearsupply plan with optional integrated bugnet so far would be my second choice.... Thinking the integrated bugnet would be my preference in general...

I'm side sleeper, (normally, but maybe not in a hammock???), bit over 6', 160lbs, so any recommendations for style/length for what might work good, or as per the title, just your preference regardless of height/weight/sleep style, appreciated!! if not me, maybe help someone else make their decision...

Thanks!

I've made 3 DIY gathered end hammocks so far. One for my better half and two for me. My first attempt was a taffeta hammock with whoopie slings at 9ft 6. I found calf pressure to be a problem (I'm 5'8), so I'm now experimenting with and 11.5ft hammock. It's much more comfy and made of 1.9 oz ripstop. I prefer it to my hennessy that's for sure. The whoopie slings are easy to make and super adjustable. IWe've also made some DIY bugnets too.

As far as what suits you, there's really only one way to find out - start building hammocks! I'd suggest buying some ripstop and building a simple gathered end hammock to start with. If you make a decent length (maybe 11ft) one, you can experiment with it and see what feels comfy. You may even find you don't need extras like a foot box. You can also add the bugnet once you have your dimensions dialled in. Good luck!

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp