Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: M-1965 Surplus

Hammock
    Not decided! Do not own one yet.

M-1965 Surplus

I am new to hammock camping. Are there opinions on whether it is advisable to seek out an original G.I. issue jungle hammock versus the newer commercial brands? I have a line on an M-1965 that is less than half the price of civilian versions. Thanks for any ideas.

Hammock
    Blackbird - Dbl. 1.1
    Tarp
    OES Spinn Deluxe
    Insulation
    REI Lite-Core 1.0
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopies
    Images
    Do you have a link, I'm sure everyone here will be able to let you know. Since you didn't mention it, I asume you're using it to backpack, and I can tell you that any newer product will be lighter, more durable, and more comfortable. Also, military gear tends to be focused on durability more than a combination of all three.
    Those who expect disappointment are never disappointed.

Hammock
    Thanks. Here is a link: http://www.militarylogisticsmfg.com/...jungle+hammock

The link is for a the U.S. made unit, not the half-priced import.

Hammock
    Blackbird - Dbl. 1.1
    Tarp
    OES Spinn Deluxe
    Insulation
    REI Lite-Core 1.0
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopies
    Images
    still not enough info on the link to make an opinion. no data as to size, weight, capabilities, or materials.
    Those who expect disappointment are never disappointed.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    I have two thoughts.. One simple weight. Can you say tonnage? I knew you could. I could be wrong but if I remember those days well, the state of the art for outdoors camping/military issue was canvas with nylon just beginning to make an appearence on the horizon. I was not in the service but I did do a fair amount of military surplus shopping at the time. That would my first concern.