Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Warm/Hot Weather Hammock?

Hi All

First time poster Dave from Central Florida writing. I have no experience with hammocks, but would like to learn and enjoy the experience.

I am 60, 5' 10", 175 lbs, average build, etc. and love the outdoors. Temps here range from mid-70's at night to high 90's during the daytime. We have lots of big mosquitos and no seeums. What are some good choices of hammocks for comfort in very warm weather, biting insect protection, etc.?

Found this one via an Internet search: http://www.hammocks.com/hammocks/fab...sonhammock.cfm

I am a stomach/side sleeper, do move around during the night, and am wondering about trying to sleep in the inverted arc position. Is that difficult to get used to? Having a large hammock with room to move about would be probably be nice. Weight and bulk is not a concern. A good rain cover would be a necessity.

In warm weather, do I need any kind of bottom pad for inside the hammock? Do bottom pads provide a flatter surface to sleep on and prevent the hammock from pulling up tight around the sides of your body?

We have some big mosquitos here. Some have a leg span that can easily cover a quarter. They can bite thru your clothes and hurt when they bite. Can mosquitos bite thru the hammock material that is pulled tight against your skin?

Thanks for any helpful hints and information.

Dave

Hammock
    Blackbird
    Tarp
    MacCat Standard
    Insulation
    Winter Yeti, MWUQ4
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    When you lay in a hammock correctly, you're not in an inverted arc position. Depending on the model and how you set it up, you're almost flat. It's difficult to sleep on your stomach in most models, but many stomach sleepers (including me) find that sleeping on our backs is very comfortable in a hammock and it isn't an issue. Side sleeping is pretty easy in most camping hammocks...helps to have a pillow (or clothes in a stuff sack) between the knees though.