Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

DIY alterations to a free hammock?

I know there will be skeptics about it, but it was free. My friend distributes for a company and sent me this free Bear Grylls Hammock with bug net. I'm still very new to the hammock forum and hanging in general but I've set it up a few times and would say I'm not disappointed especially for the price (free$$$). I have attached some pictures of the hammock and I'm looking for some tips on how I can make it better. I am still trying to figure out ridgelines and I know they should be 83% of the total length but my question there is where to attach the ridgeline on this setup? This setup also came with 2 sets of cordage to hold the bug net up but I don't like the idea of spending the time running that so I thought about just creating a simple system to attach them to a ridgeline that way I can easily choose whether or not to use the bug net and flip the hammock over. Although they aren't the lightest I do like the easy adjustability of the tree strap buckles they just slide and bite, but I thought about integrating some whoopie slings into this setup but don't really know yet. Another thing I'm skeptical about is the length of rope that runs through the hammock end channels to the carabiners. Is it too long? I am looking for advice from all you guys on what you would do to make this hammock better and what you would replace with this or that or do this instead of that haha. All responses appreciated!

Here are the hammock specs from Amazon:

Manufacturer: Apollo BrandsProduct Dimensions: 120 inches x 60 inches x 1 inches

Last edited by Kpi890; 04-12-2014 at 15:27.

Hammock
    DIY camo 330D
    Tarp
    DIY Ogees
    Insulation
    Costco down throw
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    on the ridgeline mounting, most people I see, tie theirs onto the loop that the suspension runs through.....at the channel ends