Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Eno Double
    Insulation
    Coleman Pad
    Suspension
    ENO Slap Straps

Cool Newbie in Atlanta

I'm a total newbie when it comes to Hammock camping. I have camped many times in my life, mostly car camping with a tent and inflatable air mattress. I recently acquired an ENO Double Nest from a friend and I'm dying to try it out. I've hung it several times in my yard and love the feel of it. I used slap straps as an attachment so far. I frequent Goodwill, constantly looking for camping accessories to bring along. I just bought a Coleman self inflating air mattress with inflatable pillow attached. I have yet to even lay on the thing but I hope that it works for me. I don't expect anything too grand for the price of $7 (USED). I don't have a tarp as of yet, nor do I have an underquilt. Any suggestions for a cheaper way to go than the REI route? Anyone used any DIY setups? How important will the underquilt be in the GA spring-fall? I don't expect any camping in temps lower than 40.

I'm thinking of a camping trip this weekend to try out my gear. Are there any 1 night places that anyone knows of? Thanks for all the tips in advance.

Hammock
    Eno, until I DIY
    Tarp
    Eno, until I DIY
    Insulation
    Sleeping bag
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Hello from Cleveland, Ga! I do not use an underquilt myself, since I do most of my camping spring to fall. I have one of those closed cell foam pads from Walmart that I put under my sleeping bag, and I usually wear sweat-clothes at first and remove if I get too warm. That seems to do the trick for me. If you're not going to be hiking very far, you could always solve your tarp problem with just a basic tarp from the hardware store suspended on a ridgeline above your hammock. As to your question about local campsites, I'm not really familiar with camping in Atlanta, and I do most of my camping up near Helen or Dahlonega. Hope this helps!

Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp