Byer traveller hammock surgery?

i am new to hammock camping and i just have a byer amazonas traveller hammock. i dont have the money for some of the better stuff. anyways, i use the hammock and then hang a bug net around it and hang a tarp for my own homemade shelter system. i'm wanting to improve my situation and have a few questions. everytime i go out i have such a hassle of the ropes at the end of the hammock getting all twisted up and it takes me ten minutes just to untangle them. can i take the ropes out and use a single thicker rope or heavy duty nylon straps for supports? i'm also planning on sewing the bug net onto the hammock so i dont have to pack them separately, are there any suggestions on how best to do this? and 1 more question. what size tarp is best? the 5 times i've been out it hasn't rained so i haven't had to worry about it, i only have a 9 x 7 tarp and am wondering if that is large enough. thanks for the help!
    I need to get out of the house more

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Here's a good thread from Whiteblaze:
    http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/show...t=byer+hammock

This tarp is hard to beat for the money. Also known as the "Neo" tarp.
    I have the 9x9 version. The 12x12 is massive:
    www.sportsmansguide.com/cb/cb.asp?a=97247
    "Every day above ground is a good day"

Hammock
    DIY, gathered end , w/ spreader
    Tarp
    JRB Universal
    Insulation
    DAM/ HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    i herd others talk about problems w/ the ropes on that hammock. if you go to wal-mart you should be able to find suitable nylon fabric to make your own hammock for $1.00 per yard. you would only need 3 & 1/2 to 4 yards.
    here's a link telling about making a test hammock. http://www.imrisk.com/testhammock/testhammock.htm