Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Integrated vs. separate bug net pros/cons?

I'm just getting into hammocking (obsessively researching the past couple of days), and I've got a Grand Trunk Double ordered that should arrive tomorrow. It was inexpensive and reviews indicated it's one of the most comfortable hammocks available.

However, when it comes to camping, I'll need to either order an integrated bugnet hammock, or add a couple modular upgrades (bugnet and fly).

I've read online people with Hennessy's and similar hammocks complaining that bugs can bite through the hammock, so I'm thinking that a modular system might be more effective in any case because it provides complete protection rather than just top-cover bug protection.

2 benefits I can potentially see from a separate bugnet: 1) protection for entire hammock, and 2) a bit of bugnet drape below the hammock may serve as a bit of insulation by cutting wind and trapping warmth, just as the bugnet above does.

Am I thinking right on this? If I get snakeskins to pack it with bugnet attached, it shouldn't be any less convenient than an integrated bugnet.

My potential camp system would include: GT Double, thinking of the BIAS Buginator for a bugnet, and a diamond rain fly from mosquitohammock.com. I'm thinking that would give me a good comfy hammock, bug screen with full coverage, and a nice big rainfly for less than the cost of most integrated systems.

Or... am I better off just to order a Hennessy (Explorer Ultralite Classics are on sale...)? (Or how do those Jungle tents at mosquitohammock.com compare?)

Hammock
    DIY 12' 1.6 Argon
    Tarp
    DIY 1.1 Sil Hex
    Insulation
    WB 3 Season Yeti
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles/Stra