Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Burrow/Incubator

Thru hike TQ/UQ advice

Hey all,
    I could use some advice on my Underquilt and Topquilt dilemma. So I'm planning to thru hike the appalachian trail, leaving late february of 2015, and am just now beginning to look into gear, specifically hammock gear's incubator 20 deg. underquilt and the burrow 20 deg. topquilt. Being that i'm a pretty broke college student trying to conserve money every way possible, I was thinking that when it comes time to shed my winter weight that instead of swapping my UQ and TQ for a warmer temp. setup I would just simply send home my underquilt. I am curious as to what some of you more experienced hangers thought about this. I personally am pretty new to hammocking and have never gotten the chance to use a UQ or TQ, so some advice would be greatly appreciated. (I'm also not set in stone on the hammock gear setup so if anyone has some advice on some cheaper gear that will get the job done as well that would be much appreciated.) Thanks a bunch!

Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    HG/BWWD/Z-Packs
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Woopies & Straps
    Images
    Without any bottom insulation your but will freeze at night even in summer. In a hammock bottom insulation is essential. As for the quilt set I would go Hammock Gear however contact Adam and inquire about the custom thirty UQ and TQ he just made for Yoda (a.k.a. Cranky Bear) regardless I'd spent a lot of time reading through the site. Also definitely watch Shug Hammock How To videos their in the sticky. Welcome to the forum.
    Sometimes I like to hike and think, And sometimes I just like to hike.

Hiking is'ent about waiting for the storm to pass its about learning to hike in the rain.

keep watching the 'for sale' thread you will find something there, just be patient.

Hammock
    Trail Lair || Brazilian
    Tarp
    CF w/ doors
    Insulation
    UGQ
    Suspension
    UCR