Tarp
    WB SuperFly/Ogee
    Insulation
    DIY Underquilt
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopie Slings

Silnylon VS PU Nylon Tarp

Hi everyone,

I'm new to hammock camping and am looking to buy my first tarp; however, living in the UK I have a significantly reduced range to chose from. DD Hammocks, a UK based company, have just released a new lightweight range and they have a 9.5ft x 10ft PU coated nylon tarp that weighs in at just over 16oz. It has a PU coating rated at 3,000mm. Its here below:

http://www.ddhammocks.com/product/DD_Superlight_Tarp

I really like the look of the silnylon cat cut hex tarps but it is simply uneconomical to get them shipped over to the UK.

My question for you all is as follows: are there any disadvantages of a PU nylon tarp compared to silnylon?

I have considered purchasing some silnylon and fabricating my own DIY tarp, I'm very handy with a sewing machine, would this be a better option?

In addition to this any general advice would be much appreciated!!

Cheers guys and gals,
    Tom.
    Last edited by magic354; 04-28-2014 at 20:05. Reason: Typo

Hammock
    Bridgeskin
    Tarp
    DIY Blackcat
    Insulation
    DIY Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling
    Images
    Basically it comes down to weight. PU is usually heavier. Did you look at UK hammocks? He sells affordable Warbonnet tarps...http://ukhammocks.co.uk/shop/categor...aram=cid%3D%26
    Peace Dutch
    GA>ME 2003

www.MakeYourGear.com
    http://dutchwaregear.com[/URL]
    Visit Dutchwaregear on facebook (and like it)
    Check us out on Twitter @dutchwaregear

Hammock
    Double-Layer 11'
    Tarp
    Realtree w/ doors
    Insulation
    TQ - UGQ, UQ - DIY
    Suspension
    cinch buckles