Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    WB SuperFly/Ogee
    Insulation
    DIY Underquilt
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopie Slings

My first DIY Gathered End Hammock- Lightweight Style (ish)

So, this is my first attempt at a DIY project. I've got a DD Camping hammock that is a hefty 29oz, especially given the fact it doesn't have a bugnet, so I decided to make my own lightweight hammock. I used the lightest ripstop nylon I could find in the UK which came in around 2oz/square yard, 1 yard of 1" polyester webbing for corner reinforcements and Gutermann 100% polyester thread. I used a square piece of fabric 118" x 59", hemmed the perimeter, used a box stitch to sew in the webbing on each corner, and then took about 3" at each end and rolled it three times to create the channel, I secured this with four rows of stitching. That was everything!

Final dimensions came out at 102" x 58" and weighing just over 11oz.

In hindsight, it may be a tiny tiny bit short me, given the fact I am 6 ft 2, but I had a pretty nice diagonal lay on it this afternoon so I think I might just get away with it. On the MkII I think I will make the sides a little narrower, increase the length, and definitely make the channel a lot smaller. All the material has gathered in a fan-like manner as a result of the 3 inch channel, you'll see it in the photos.

I'm really pleased with hows its come out, although I can't help but feel slightly shown-up by all the awesome XTrekker style hammocks popping up on the forum. I'm still working out my plans for the bug net, not sure whether to go the Fronky style no zipper, or make a MkII hammock with an integrated bug nut. For now, my plans turn to a tarp...

Hope you enjoy the photos.
    Cheers,
    Tom.

All hemmed and ready to be gathered:

DIY-H1.jpg

This is inside the channel, the webbing sewn in for extra reinforcement/abrasion resistance:

DIY-H4.jpg

My assistant got quickly bored with the project:

DIY-H7.jpg