Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

DD Hammock size - Is it still too small.? What about these

(This one's for Neo - among others!)

OK (Neo) got me thinking with his negative critique of the DD hammock design regarding size.

I think he may have a point regarding squeeze issues at the head and feet.
    There may also be an issue about the 140cm width which though quite generous for single hammock sizes could still restrict the body when it comes to turning the body onto the side in sleep due to the DD design.

I'm a hammock noob seeking my starter hammock & i like the price of the DD Camping hammock as well as the overall approach to design. However Neo's internet presence alerted me to the size issue.

I found these other 2 (UK - where i live) types of (what i believe to be starter) hammocks.

1. http://www.paradisehammocks.co.uk/sh...e1f15b9141e26a

length : 3.5M (0.70M longer than the DD camping hammock)
    width : 1.64M (0.24M wider than the DD camping hammock)
    weight : 550g (0.75g lighter than DD camping hammock)
    colour : A fairly acceptable dark green with silver edging
    Price : currently £20

This first version is basically the DD 2.70M length design blown up to 3.5M plus an extra 0.24M in the width. A DD 3x3M tarp hung at an angle would easily cover the 3.5M length. However no double layered material zip cocoon design for a pad - just a layer of single parachute silk. (Good for summer hanging ?)

2. http://www.hammockheaven.co.uk/
    Go to >left side menus >travel hammock
    Silk forest hammock
    total length - 3.50M (0.70M longer than the DD camping hammock)
    sleeping area length - 2.10M (0.60M shorter than the DD camping hammock)
    width 1.40M (same as DD camping hammock)
    weight 350g (325g lighter than DD camping hammock)
    Colour - 2 - colour light and dark green (could be dyed to olive green?)
    price - £23