Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hennessy Hammock Explorer Deluxe
    Tarp
    Standard ASYM Tarp
    Suspension
    Tree Hugger Straps

First steps to staying warm?

Hello i'm a noobie with hammocks. I just recently purchased a Hennessy Hammock explorer deluxe and love it. I slept in it for a week last month. Most nights I was alright except the first night it got cold and I had trouble sleeping. My setup was a cold weather sleeping bag and a foam pad and a towel. I am worried that if I attempt to sleep in cooler weather I will regret it. So my question is what should my first upgrade be to improve the warmth of my hammock. Thanks, Brett

Hammock
    eno doublenest
    Insulation
    Hg 0 incubator
    Suspension
    atlas straps
    Images
    I'm a newbie too, had the same issues and it seems that underquilts are the best options. I'm still waiting on mine to arrive from Hammockgear. There are a lot of great resources/reviews/comparisons on here.

Hammock
    Tarp
    Standard ASYM Tarp
    Suspension
    Tree Hugger Straps
    Thanks, I was also wondering if it's worth it to just buy the official Hennessy Hammock gear? Their "supershelter" which is the underquilt and undercover is $150. Their reflective sleeping pad is $35. Their overcover is $40. They also have some really intense rainflies that vary in price. Thanks, Brett

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE
    Suspension
    Varies
    There should be many reports scattered throughout the Hennessy Hammocks forum about the SS and other gear.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    UGQ FJ + Lynx
    Suspension
    Dutchware Cinches
    Images