Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Hammock
    Kammok Roo
    Suspension
    Python straps

Bugnets, Do I need one?

Hey! I have been on here a lot (although this is my first time posting) and today I was thinking about my set up and wondering if I needed a bugnet. I have only slept in my Kammok on one trip (best thing ever) in 62*f weather, one night I used excess fabric from the hammock to cacoon myself plus bug spray and only bug spray the second night and I didn't get any mosquito bites. Should I invest in one? The dragonfly is kinda pricy and I don't camp super often. I mainly use my hammock for hanging out at church or at events. I can't wait to use my hammock more and thanks in advance for your replies!

~Zack

Hammock
    HH Exped Classic, Dutch Argon 1.6
    Tarp
    Forum Member Made
    Insulation
    JRB HR, Greylock3
    Suspension
    Rings, Whoopies
    Images
    I personally would never go camping in my neck of the woods without a bugnet, but I suppose for just hanging out during the day bug spray would suffice. I mean, that the same as using bug spray during a backyard cookout essentially, right?

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    Bug spray is not a solution for sleeping (unless mosquitoes don't bite you, in which case, nevermind). You do realize that DEET damages nylon? I personally wouldn't buy the Kammok bugnet - I'm sure it's heavy and pricey (like all their products), and their customer service is suspect.

Better to buy a Buttinasling Buginator, which will work fine with the Kammok Roo. Buy yourself a bottle of 10% permethrin off Amazon and spray your bugnet (using the recommended water dilution).