Newbie Hanger Here

Hi HF hangers,

I am NEW to hammock camping and have a HH Explorer Deluxe Asym Zip and an Exped DownMat 7 ( http://www.exped.com/usa/en/product-...s/downmat-7-lw ). I plan to go on my first hammock backpacking trip in October (North Eastern Region) and wanted to know if I should purchase the HH undercover (not the HHSS System) and use the EXPED DownMat in between the hammock and the UC. I'm guessing the weather will drop below 30-40 F. Or should I save the $115 (cost of the UC from HH) and put it towards an UNDERQUILT?

Any suggestions will greatly be appreciated. I am not experienced in Hammock Camping and the last thing I want to experience is heading back towards my car because I went unprepared.

Thanks!
    Aaron
    Last edited by snakestriper; 06-30-2014 at 20:41. Reason: Left out detail.

Hammock
    BIAS Hiker Lite 11ft
    Tarp
    AHE Toxaway
    Insulation
    Jarbidge, Owyhee
    Suspension
    Whoopies & Toggles
    Pads work well. UQ are nice because they don't move around like a pad would. I'd make sure you have a quality and warm top quilt with that money (you didn't mention your top insulation).

Just research and go to group hangs. You'll find what works for you and what you like in time. If it's cold and your first time then bring a little extra insulation, I'll tell you from experience

Also you can get the closed cell foam pads for cheap insurance for your bottom insulation.

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    Welcome from the Jersey Shore. I'd skip the HH undercover and get an underquilt. The undercover is not insulation.
    Last edited by SilvrSurfr; 06-30-2014 at 22:20.
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hammock
    BIAS WWM
    Tarp
    HG CubeF w/ doors
    Insulation
    NEO AIR
    Suspension
    Strap Dutch Whoopi