Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New to hammock camping

Hello, I have been camping in tents for many years but have never had the pleasure of trying camping in a hammock, but am very excited to do so. I have looked at several brands and have read dozens of reviews and have narrowed it down to two hammocks, Hennessy explorer deluxe and Warbonnet xcl. Both of these Hammocks are large and made for large people, which I'm not. I am about 5'6" and 180 pounds. I could go with a smaller one, but like the idea of having the extra room to maybe put a small bag or something else and it and not be cramped. Any thoughts on that?
    The other thing is that I am having a difficult time choosing between the two. I see that most people recommend the Warbonnet over the Hennessey. I really like what the warbonnets offers, especially the shelf. If I get the XCL and me being 5'6", I don't think that I will really need the foot box all that much, but I know I would get a lot of use out of the shelf. They shelf is the main reason that I am looking at the Warbonnett over the Hennessey. I really love that feature.
    But I really love the features about the Hennessey too. I like how everything is complete inside the stuff sack. I'm not intending on getting a larger tarp, so with the smaller tarp I can pull everything out of one bag, attach it to the trees, pullback the snake skins, and pretty much be done. I love the small, compact, everything together system that Hennessey offers. It looks like a very sleek system.