Tarp
    BWDD 4 Season, DIY
    Insulation
    Incubator / DIY IX
    Suspension
    Whoopie!!
    Images

Coldest hang, what was your setup?

I do a lot of cold weather camping, but I'm new to hanging. Just curious what works best for the rest of you hangers.

Please list temps and the gear required to keep you warm. Hammock type, clothing, underquilt, topquilt, etc.

Thanks in advance for the info. This site is awesome!

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Custom OES
    Insulation
    DIM UQ NoSniv TQ
    Suspension
    JRB Triglide/strap
    Images
    Wow, such a question.

At the Mt Rogers hangout in January this year, there were around 40 set ups, & not one repete.

My set up: Jacks R Better (JRB) no snivveler (down) underquilt top quilt ala RayWay with alpine upgrade. Hammock sock over it all. Then everything covered by a large tarp.

Join us next year & get a few tips & some hands on lookin at.
    When you have a backpack on, no matter where you are, you’re home.
    PAIN is INEVITABLE. MISERY is OPTIONAL.

Hammock
    Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    Speer Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    BA Insulated & SPE
    Images
    I've done down to 30 degrees. I normally sleep in my clothes so at the 30 degree mark I was wearing smartwool baselayer top, patagonia baselayer bottom, hiking pants and shirt, fleece top, and stocking cap.

For my hammock, I was using a DIY Speer type hammock with the Campmor 20 degree down rectangular sleeping bag pulled up around me and the hammock like a peapod so it provided both top and bottom insulation. I can do down farther in this set up but haven't had the opportunity yet.
    "The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits." - Albert Einstein

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images