Hammock
    TTTG Switchback 1.9
    Tarp
    warbonnet superfly
    Insulation
    quilts - HG, DIY
    Suspension
    rings 'n straps

Lightbulb I'm a hammock camping newbie - and I got a great initiation!

I've been a member here for awhile but just lurking, but didn't need a lot of persuading that hammocks are great. I've worked in Brazil for 20 years, spend a few months a year in the field there where I essentially live in my hammock, either indoors or on a porch - last few years it's been an ENO double with their bug net. Now I'm just back from a visit to my brother in CO, where I spent 5 days on a solo motorcycle trip camping along the continental divide in his hammock rig (Warbonnet tarp, TT hammock, hammockgear quilts) - he's built a nice kit and now I am a believer in hammocks for temperate climates as well! I never want to sleep on the ground again. So I'm going to start with what I've got - my ENO, Kelty tarp, and Big Agnes sleeping bag with thermarest in a sleeve - and work up from there. I've got a strong DIY bent, have a rugged old sewing machine and am not afraid to try stuff with it... I'll probably buy the major stuff like quilts, but with all my gear I usually modify things to my taste or improvise some new widgets.