UQ Comparrison - Straight Cuts vs Tapers / Pleats

I'm getting ready to make my first underquilt (climashield) and have read as much as I can find in the forums. I'm a novice thread injector. I've made a few compressions sacks and a top quilt so far. I am currently trying to decide between making an KAQ (guide)or a simple rectangular uq modeled after this thread. Based on my skills and the estimated time from each quide, a rectangular quilt looks like it will take less then half the time to make.

What are the advantages of going with the KAQ pattern and do they outweigh the extra time and skill required? Do the straight rectangular quilts perform significantly worse then a KAQ style uq?

Thanks,
    naljta

Hammock
    WB XLC
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 30 UQ and 40 TQ
    Suspension
    Custom Whoopies
    Your post got me exploring. I found the tutorial for the KAQ but cant find the actual pattern. It show's it in the tutorial but I can't read the resolution as it is embedded.
    Just an out of shape middle aged guy who loves doing outdoor things with his great kids...

www.hikerspantry.weebly.com

Hammock
    HH Expedition Asym
    Tarp
    HH Hex Rainfly
    Insulation
    Pad & Wiggy's Bag
    Suspension
    Whoopies/dutch buc
    From what I understand the flat quilts can be somewhat more bothersome to get adjusted properly to hold temp. Right b/c the warmth is mostly determined by how well the quilt fits your hammock, and not letting it droop and create a wind tunnel underneath you. That said MY first DIY UQ will probably be a flat quilt just to get the experience, and shock cord will help with adjustment and fit to cover mistakes.
    “The path of least resistance leads to crooked rivers and crooked men.”

― Henry David Thoreau

Hammock
    HH exped asym zip
    Tarp
    DIY "Penta-tarp"
    Insulation
    DIY CS Apex
    Suspension
    G-clips, rings