I learn from your mistakes

As my first thread on this fine forum, I wish to begin with a very large THANK YOU to all who have hung before me. Many of you are not only geniuses, but genuinely generous, and all-around good people. You trails and errors, experiments and successes, and reporting to follow has helped not only me, but I bet countless others who would literally be in the cold and dark without the discussions taking place in this and other forums.

Im fairly new to backpacking and even less experienced with a hammock. I have a HH asym/exped/zip, with kammock python straps. I have a marmot 40deg synthetic bag and a surplus ILBE internal frame pack. My gear is not particular or exclusive to one type of doing it (ie: ultralight, non-corporate,diy,logical, or even practical) but it is fun. And isnt that the point? If you're not having fun than you're not doing it right. That goes for anything really.

My first real experience hanging was on a 2night/3day on a section of the AT coming on from Hawk Mtn. PA. It was early April, I had my marmot bag, we had a fire of course... I had no idea about the fatal flaw with sleeping bags and hammocks and compression and I froze my A** off. Not until I hit the interwebs and found HF did I learn about the many many many options to keep warm and keep hanging.

So from many many many hours or research I finally made a purchase (as opposed to one of the very-possible diy projects I stumbled upon) and I am happy to announce that I will soon be another one of the thousands of warm and satisfied customers of arrow head equipments kick *** quilts. I will not be fussing with a pad. I will not be supporting another giant sweat-shop-type corporation. I think during my next trip (once i receive the jarbidge) I will twist up some 550 paracord braids and try to make my own triangle thingie. Cant imagine why it wouldnt work.