Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

So a backpacker walks into a hammock forum....

The other day I was peacefully lounging in my yard, swaying quite pleasantly swaying in both the breeze and from a couple of adult beverages and I began idly pondering a question which I hope a few of you veterans could weigh in on...
    -What, if any, are the qualitative, substantive differences\advantages of my (anyones) no name 18$ hammock and say a 60-70$ ENO double nest or some such higher-priced device? I'm not asking this rhetorically, I'm genuinely curious. Being new to the hammock game but an experienced backpacker\long distance runner I fully understand the value of things like weight reduction and ease of use. LOVE my new whoopie slings, swapped out steel carabiners for aluminum, I can set my little guy up in about 5-8 mins. It's great. But the hammock itself, I mean as long as its big enough and doesn't rip, what else is there. Keep in mind I'm very new to this (no group hangs to compare setups, only used on the trail\site 9-10 times) so my frame of reference is extremely limited. Top\bottom quilts,tarp setups guy lines etc. etc. totally get why folks obsessively tinker, but in the end isn't the hammock itself just a glorified bedsheet? What am I missing. BTW, I love this forum. The least pretentious, friendliest most helpful I have come across. Anyone who has info on upcoming Nor. California hangs please let me know. Thanks!

Banned
    Hammock
    Sold
    Insulation
    Varies
    Suspension
    Depends
    Each hammock has its own feel. There are little design features that make a huge difference to some people. The difference between one of those tiny Fiat to a Maserati.

To some members there is no difference between brands of hammocks, to others there is a world of difference. Many of us started with an ENO, then tried something else different and liked it. I need a shallow hammock that I can easily exit from...