Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Putting a bean bag hammock in a bedroom

Hi everyone,

I stumbled upon a bean bag hammock a few days ago and it really looked awesome. It's basically a square cloth connected to 4 ropes or whatever you'd wanna use. I'm really new to hammocks and I don't know much about the physics or what kind of material i would need to use. I was hoping to get some insight on inexpensive material to make the hammock and how to connect the rope to the material so that it could support at least 400 pounds. I'd like it to support more than that if that's even possible but I don't know how much that would affect the ceiling. I have really strong rope that can hold 800 pounds so I'll probably use that but if you know of a cheap and good looking kind for a roomthat would be awesome too. I'd also like to somehow make it so I can lower and raise 2 ropes to angle the hammock forward to watch tv. I was thinking of using really good carabeaners too so I could have an open room if I needed it.

I'm not a hammock expert by any means, but I'm somewhat familiar with them, at least as used in backpacking/camping applications, which is how I use mine.

I don't know what a bean bag hammock is. Maybe you could post a link or describe what you have....

Also just FYI, your hammock when hanging, will have to be attached to the walls, not the ceiling. You might want to look at your rope too.... 800 lbs sounds like alot, but the stress on that rope could be less or more than the weight actuallyin the hammock depending on the angle of your suspension. I think the 'safe' load for suspension is 5x the actual weight limit of the pressure on the line. (I stand to be corrected, but think that is right....)