Tarp
    Chill Gorilla
    Insulation
    DIY/Vulcan/PLUQ
    Suspension
    whoopies/spiders

Desert Dwellers

Greetings everyone,
    We are total noobs, a group of 3 older women and 2 rather large puppies…. so we are taking turns testing out a solo budget set up to figure out who likes what, and eventually get everyone their own hammock when our camping season starts next year. We also need to wait before investing in anything too costly until the puppies both get old enough to stop chewing on everything they can.

We aren't too worried about pack weight, as everyone has bad knees, so it's car camping for us.

I picked up an $15 Enjoydeal 108" gathered double hammock, since we are all vertically challenged, (5'1" to 5'3") with weights ranging from 115 to 200lbs - this seemed like the best size to start out with, and I'm a bit claustrophobic, and don't want to drowned in fabric

Suspension:
    90" fixed ridge line, with Whoopie slings & 6ft tree huggers.

I've removed the cheap rope and steel carabiners that came with the hammock, and since my Whoopie slings are too short to double back through the channel, I'm going to use Amsteel loops to a rap ring, and then attach the Whoopie slings to that, and then use a Climbing beaner going to the tree huggers.

Weatherizing:
    We live in Palm Springs, so aren't used to cold weather at all! Until we are ready to spend the dough on quilts, here's what I have on hand to play with:

- Army poncho liner
    - lots of Army CCF pads
    - lots of Walmart special Everest 5F mummy bags (In reality, I am only comfortable down to about 45F in them)
    - Microfiber Fleece mummy liner
    - Intrex Pool Wave mats (thin & flat)

One problem I have is that I can't do any testing here at home... no tress, nothing but rock filled loose sand. The rambunctious puppies remove any safe use of the Turtledog stands for now.

My question is.... any suggestions for the warmest way to test this system out in Idyllwild mid-Oct 40F weather?