Thread: New In Kentucky

New In Kentucky

Hello folks,

About two years ago I took my oldest son (8) camping and one of the men on the trip had an ENO single nest. My son was curious and so was I. Recently the college where I work as an administrator and instructor renovated the undergraduate dorms, adding several hammock poles outside. My curiosity got the better of me. After spending a couple of weeks reading reviews and comparing opinions, I decided to try Appalachian Hammocks and was grateful to receive their basic hammock as a birthday gift. So far I've used it about a dozen times and think I might have set it properly at least two of those times. I am really happy with the quality of the hammock and it's ease of setup, but I would be glad to receive some advice on the basics of consistently hanging a gathered-end hammock.

Best,

Joe

Hammock
    Sheltowee Hammocks
    Tarp
    Big, Retangular
    Suspension
    Webbing/Buckles
    Welcome Joe! from the Lawrenceburg area. One of the keys to a consistent hang is the use of a ridgeline. It doesn't look like an Appalachian Hammock comes with one, so you can start by measuring the length of the hammock in inches and then multiplying that number by 0.83.

If you have the 'Original Appalachian Hammock' then it looks like they come in 11' lengths so a RL 110" long would work great. It's important to use some cord that won't stretch, like Amsteel or Spectra cord (para cord or anything nylon is no good as it will stretch). A RL that is 83% of the length of the hammock is a good starting point, but people use adjustable RLs so they can play around with different lengths to find a lay that they like best.